About Me

Born and raised in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, I grew up with the Rocky Mountains in my backyard and summer time meant Stampede and summer camp. Winter meant skiing, and street hockey, and skating. I started gymnastics at the age of six and became competitive at the age of 11, gradually progressing up the provincial levels. I also played soccer, ran track in junior high, and swam competitively at the YMCA with my older sister. Eventually gymnastics meets took over everything when I started winning medals, and remained at the forefront of my mind till I came across a new love when I was 13- springboard and platform diving.

Now 13 may be a little old to begin a new sport, especially when you do it for a couple months, quit, and come back when you turn 15, but people believed in me. I was talent ID’d by coaches at Dive Calgary, and was fortune enough to work with an incredible group of people there with the various coaches, my team mates and best friends, and the parents and the community. While competing with Dive Calgary I had the opportunity to travel to all over Canada, Hawaii, Mexico, and Germany. My last year of high school was even completed at the National Sport School, a one of a kind institution that supported national level athletic goals.

At 19, a year out of high school and after a long recruiting process, I packed up my life and moved to Iowa City, Iowa with the help of my mom and sister. Attending the University of Iowa, as a NCAA Division I, Big Ten, diver, was probably one of the greatest decisions of my life. Something clicked when I visited the campus the previous fall. I knew where I was supposed to be. Being at Iowa had given more than I ever could have imagined- the pride I feel from being a Hawkeye, a team that acts like a family, the chance to travel all over the US. The best friends a girl could possibly ask for, and two of the best coaches I will ever have. I wish I could put into words how thankful I am for this period of my life. Perhaps sometime I’ll try sometime in a blog post.

Currently I’m a senior now at Iowa, studying Recreation and Sport Business. I’m certainly not ready to be done with college or diving- evidenced by the fact I’m dragging it out for as long as possible! Thanks for reading, and I promise to keep posting :)

 

Lauren

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s