Today is a New Day, and good things can happen

So yesterday was a pretty terrible day. It was a Monday, alarm clock was going off at 5:10am. And then it just snowballed into one of those days where every little thing that could go wrong, would have. I some how just completely forgot an assignment that was due, didn’t even write it down despite all the other ones for the class already in my planner till December. Didn’t get the response I was hoping in an email from a prof. Tried to cook a healthy dinner and spilled cous cous ALL over the kitchen. Got this weekend confused with next weekend and mistakenly took the wrong day off. You get the idea.

After some friends coming over for cake (Happy Birthday Joelle!) and a long Skype date with the boy, I just decided today was going to be better. Sure, I may have six midterms in the next two weeks and we’re lifting heavier than we ever have in the past, but I was determined. And ya know what? My day itself wasn’t necessarily better, but I felt a hell of a lot better at the end of it just by how I approached it.

I told myself today was going to be a new day, and good things can happen. And I:

  • worked on a dive on one meter that no girl has competed in the NCAA or Canada before
  • earned 100% on my logic test for the second week in a row
  • got through my entire daily work out with an hour to spare
  • found time for a venti Starbucks and all the emails I wanted to respond to

Okay, so maybe my day was better. Regardless, I was reminded of a quote seen once (probably on Pinterest): “You can’t have a good day with a bad attitude, and you can’t have a bad day with a good attitude.”

I’m looking forward to a lot of things for tomorrow. A little work, only one class, library time to prep for those midterms, and a big lift to start the day. Tomorrow will be a good day. Goodnight everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

