Chana Masala

Recipe time! This Indian dish was introduced a couple summers ago to me by a camp friend, and I’ve had the ingredients sitting in my pantry now for months. With training camp officially upon us, I figured now would be the perfect time! It’s a ridiculously healthy meal that makes incredible leftovers, and even though it’s not the fastest to make it’s so easy. The recipe in general makes a ton of food- invite your friends to share!

Ingredients:

  • Canned chick peas
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Diced Tomatoes
  • Mushrooms (Canned or otherwise)
  • Kidney Beans
  • Pinto Beans
  • Any type of canned bean you want
  • Canned corn
  • Onion (I used a small yellow onion)
  • Meat (I used two cans of shredded chicken)
  • Minced garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Curry!!
  • Ginger, Cinnamon, celery seed, cumin, garlic, cardamom, tarragon, thyme, poppy seeds, brown sugar

The beautiful thing about Chana Masala is you can basically put whatever you want in it. While it’s a lot of beans (so good for you!) I loved the additions of corn, chicken, and mushrooms- while I’m not a massive onion fan after the cooked and simmered they added a good flavor too! You could easily leave out the chicken for a vegetarian meal too.

Start by rinsing everything you that comes from a can (minus the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes). For me, that was all the beans, mushrooms, and corn. I did leave out the canned chicken. Add them all to a larger pot and let them stew/simmer. Add some curry (because you can never have too much).

Using a sauce pan, fry together your olive oil, garlic, onion, and chicken. This is where I added the majority of the spices as well. You’ll notice I don’t have any quantities next to any of the ingredients- normally I’m a sucker for having exact measurements but on this one I really believed spice to taste! I used an absolute ton of curry, then garlic, then ginger, brown sugar, and celery seed. The one I would recommend going easy on was the cardamom- a little goes a long way!

Once the onion is soft and slightly brown, add the fried mixture to the large pot. Let it stew all together until the beans are soft (10-20 minutes, depending on how long it was on before adding the onion/chicken). Feel free to keep adding curry spices until you get the desired effect!

At this point I was also making quinoa in a pot off to the side. Using two cups water and one cup quinoa, something to serve the Chana Masala with was ready in no time.

Enjoy! That’s all there is to it. I like to serve it with more mixture from the pot than quinoa (you could also use rice, pita, or any type of pasta). Did I mention there’s a lot of leftovers??

Leave a Reply

