Updates and Soup!

So here I am, thinking I can write to my heart’s content over winter training camp, and my internet goes out. Of course it would! Thankfully, your local Iowa City Starbucks has free wi-fi so here I am until a tech can come on Tuesday to figure it out. Grrrrr, Anyone know of anyone else besides Mediacom in Iowa City who can offer internet and cable that DOESN’T go out all the time??

I’ll still hopefully clear out some of these drafts I have sitting in my Dashboard, a couple recipes and a couple posts about training. We survived the polar vortex here, driving the four blocks to and from the pool to avoid the insane wind chills! Now with promises of my internet coming back soon, the warmer weather, and a recovery day from training camp, my spirits are up! To help curb the winter chill, I whipped together a soup recipe I got from my Grandmother a couple summers ago. It took a little longer than expected, but was definitely worth it for the amount of leftovers I was able to save and freeze!

Harvest Vegetable Soup

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 large leeks, chopped (white part)
  • large onion, chopped
  • large potato, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups squash, peeled and diced
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 1 tart apple, peeled and chopped
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 light cream or milk (optional- I used a little skim)
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine (optional- I did but probably wouldn’t next time)

I don’t know the difference between something being diced versus chopped, I just typed my hand written notes from July 2012

In large, heavy saucepan over medium heat, melt butter. Add leeks and onion; cook, stirring often until softened but not browned (10 ish minutes). Add potato, squash, carrots, apple, and chicken stock- bring to boil. Reduce heat. Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are soft (20 ish minutes). Puree mixture until very smooth:

Since I had to do mine in batches, this is what it looked like post and pre blender!

Return soup to saucepan. Stir in nutmeg, milk, wine, and salt/pepper to taste (I used garlic salt- would HIGHLY recommend!) Heat until piping hot but not boiling. All in all, the recipe says the soup makes about six servings! I turned mine into seven unequal ones, one for right then and there and then various sizes to throw in the freezer.

According to my handwritten notes of my Grandma’s handwritten notes, divided into six servings each serving contains: 155 calories, 24 grams of carbs, 6 grams of protien, and is a good source of vitamin A, vitamin C, and folate!

I’ve already defrosted and heated up one serving since I made this about a week ago, and it reheats just as fantastic as when it was made fresh!

Leave a Reply

