Banana Berry Bread

So it’s been a while since I’ve done a baking post! Honestly it feels like forever since I’ve baked in general. School has been ramping up, training has been transitioning into competition mode and championship season, and I just feel that busy atmosphere settle into my life again. I just want to blog and bake- too much to ask?? BUT with all that being said- this bread is fantastic. This bread makes it seem like spring is right around the corner. And unlike my last post, this bread is healthy and easy to make! I raved it about it so much I ended up taking some to the pool to share…I would highly suggest making two loafs. This recipe originally came from http://www.annplified.com/2012/10/banana-berry-bread.html but I did enough substitutions that I figured I should post it myself!

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup flaxseeds
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 large ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups berries, fresh or frozen

A note about substitutions- yes I could have found something healthy than straight sugar but oh well. And I hardly notice a difference with whole wheat flour because it’s what I would always order anyways! And eggs. Ah, people love to substitute eggs. Eggs are SO GOOD FOR YOU. You will never see me substitute eggs in a recipe, because their pros outweigh their cons no matter how you look at it. Even egg yolks have the healthy fats and vitamins your body wants!

Anyways. Heat our oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan. In a large bowl, mix both flours, the sugar, chia seeds, flax seeds, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together!

In a different bowl, mash the bananas, then mix then together with the milk, egg, and vanilla extract. Fold in the berries when you’re done. I doubled the amount of berries from the original recipe, and still would have been okay with more! I used a mixed bag from Hy-Vee.

Pour wet batter into dry ingrededients, and fold together until just combined. Pour batter into pan and bake for about an hour and 15 minutes!

Proceed to eat with everything. Eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and dessert. It’s sooo good just out of the oven, and from the microwave, and a plastic bag or Tupperware. I’m constantly looking for healthy on-the-go options like loafs or muffins, so this was a perfect find!

Leave a Reply

