Today I am Clichéd

Currently, I am sitting in a coffee shop and writing. Not just writing- blogging. And what goes better with blogging than a decaf skinny vanilla latte? Besides wine. And sweatpants. Not a lot. In all seriousness though, I’m taking an hour and perhaps a bit to write because I had to drop my car off at the shop to fix a leaky tire. Side note, this must what it’s like you have a child and they ride their bike for the first time (Not quite? No? Are we sure?). I am also clichéd today because I am rocking my Hockey Canada top- in Hawkeye colors nonetheless! How could I not with Canada beating Austria 6-0 today! A game which I unfortunately couldn’t watch because I had three workouts and three classes to get to..I know, heart breaking for a Friday. A few team mates and I might get together tomorrow at 6am to watch the Russia-USA game before practice…we shall see!

Have you ever tried to take a selfie in a Starbucks? Good luck.

One more reason today I am a living cliche? I am going to write about Valentines Day. To be honest, I’m sort of indifferent about the holiday itself. I’m not a big fan of pink, but I am a massive fan of chocolate. I’m not a big teddy bear kinda girl, and I’d rather make a fantastic dinner at home than make reservations. A day in itself dedicated to couples seems a little silly to me, but I am also confused when people declare they HATE Valentines Day. How can you hate Valentines Day? Did you hate it when you were a child and everyone went around and everyone got a paper valentine? Those days were the best. If you’re single, there are so many things you can do instead of HATE Valentines. For one, simply don’t celebrate it. Or, celebrate it with your friends. You don’t have to hate something just because it may or may not pertain to you. You see these kind of people all over social media and all over college campuses, declaring their distaste that other people want to celebrate their relationships. Just be neutral!

Sorry, rant over. I may not be super into the Hallmark aspect’s of the day, but if you talk to anyone who knows me, I am the biggest suck when it comes to romance. Goopy, embarassingly cute romance. The big gestures and the small gestures and everything in between, I. Am. A. Suck. And (warning- corny ahead) why would I need a day to celebrate my relationship when I am thankful every single day that I am with the person that I am with? The person who introduced himself in a skating rink, left maple syrup at my door, and drove multiple hours every weekend for a YEAR to see me? And let us not forget the night he took me to “prom.” Yes, prom. We didn’t have prom in Calgary, so during my junior year of college he asked me to a prom- complete with the dress, corsage, dinner, and breaking into an elementary school gymnasium with portable speakers to have our own dance. How can I recognize all of that and every moment more and every moment to come in a day? I’d have to create an entirely new blog. Maybe I’ll write a post someday detailed how we met, and why it was awesome. Maybe not :)

Basically today is as good of a day as any to celebrate the love in your life. I can recognize someone incredible, and my family, and my friends, and my team mates. And these two, my celebrity couple obsession. Charles Hamelin and Marianne St-Gelais, you two are reason enough to celebrate Valentines Day. (if you haven’t YouTubed Marianne St-Gelais, do it. Do it right now!)

Golden Kiss

Happy Valentines Day friends!

One thought on “Today I am Clichéd

  1. […] bites, salmon with spinach and asiago, and desserts! Then there’s the Senior Meet, Valentines Day, and the Big Ten Championships for both men and women. Following the Women’s Big Ten […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

