Cheesy Greek Quinoa Bake

Who doesn’t love melted cheese? And everyone knows someone who is obsessed with quinoa (guilty). Mix in a boat load of veggies and you have yourself a perfect week day dinner that involves minimal prep. It also allows a ton of flexibility! Perhaps a quinoa or pasta bake will be my first attempt a completely original recipe. I wish I could give proper credit for this one, however I just have a screen shot from my phone as record of this find. It was weeks ago, and I just got around to trying it out. I also completely revamped the quantities of each ingredient, so if you are over or under on anything it honestly won’t make a difference (I posted approximately what I used).

What else is new you ask? Can you tell by the difference in image quality? I FINALLY got around to buying a new digital camera! While not photo savy enough for a DSLR, I did enough research on point-and-shoots to pick out a Canon PowerShot SX510 HS. It captures photos like a champ, with such clear picture and 30x zoom. Between this blog, Nationals next week, and insane summer that involves multiple states, countries, and a trip across the Pacific Ocean, the need was there.

Cheesy Greek Quinoa Bake:

  • 3 cups cooked quinoa
  • 4 oz feta cheese (one small container)
  • 1.5 cups reduced fat shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1.5 cups spinach, chopped
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • salad dressing, onion powder, salt and pepper to taste

Prepare quinoa as directed, while chopping and dicing the spinach and tomatoes (I’m kicking myself for forgetting to pick up mushrooms, they would have been perfect). Combine the feta cheese, skim milk, garlic, lemon juice, parsley, and salad dressing in a food processor. News flash- I don’t own a food processor. I used my trusty Magic Bullet and it worked like a charm!

The original recipe doesn’t have any type of salad dressing, but it calls for artichokes in oil which is not really my thing. I figured by adding a dollop of my favorite dressing I’d get some extra flavor and a little of the called for oil!

Add the veggies to the quinoa and mix well. Pour the feta sauce over top, then mix in onion powder, salt, and pepper.Combine thoroughly. You could probably use actual onions, but personally I think the taste of raw onions over power everything. If I had time I would think about dicing one and frying it, but I wasn’t too concerned.

Transfer quinoa mixture to an oven safe casserole dish, spreading it out flat. Top with the shredded mozzarella cheese, and bake at 400F for about 16 minutes (until the cheese has thoroughly melted).

As expected, it makes for fantastic leftovers! While I haven’t tried it packed for lunch yet, I’m sure it would do just as well thrown in your bag with a cold pack. Greek super foods for the win!

One thought on “Cheesy Greek Quinoa Bake

Leave a Reply

