Back At It {Food}

What a whirlwind (I wasn’t kidding when I said March Madness). I got back from Nationals two weeks ago, made it through midterms, and am home for spring break! I know I wasn’t blogging last week but I was still keeping up with my two favorite things- eating and working out! I’ve got two posts for you tonight, the first being a food update and the second being fitness! Here’s what I was fueling my body with during Midterm Week:

Like a lot of college girls out there, 90% of the time I am cooking for one! I love love love my veggies, but struggle with finishing produce on time before it goes bad and soggy. I think something about the nice warm spring days Iowa had got to my head, and I bought a massive container of spring mixed greens! It was huge. I made it my personal mission to finish it by weeks end, and I had to get creative let me tell ya. Also in the photo? Sweet potatoes. I have an obsessive love affair with sweet potatoes (if you follow me on Pinterest, you’ll definitely see signs of sweet potato madness!) I took FIVE of them and roasted them for the whole week to top my salads with.

Just a little olive oil and Greek seasoning does the trick! This means that the majority of my dinners last week looked like this-

Which, side note, was absolutely fantastic. I was making great headway on finishing my weekly greens. On days I felt I needed more protein I added both the greens and the sweet potatoes to an egg burrito!

Those other veggies on top were just from a little microwave steam container on sale for $1 at Hy-Vee; I grabbed quite a few for salad toppings, omelets, side dishes (and burrito fillings!) Outside of salads and fillings I managed to FINISH the greens stuffing them into smoothies every chance I got! I’m almost out of those pre-made smoothie baggies I made (which you can find here), so I’ll be looking for other things to try in my next batch of smoothie preparations! Speaking of smoothies, on a day I didn’t feel like berries I threw together something fast after a workout before studying-

Ice, vanilla protein powder, chia seeds, flax seeds, a banana, and skim milk made a sweet almost nutty-like flavor smoothie! I’ve been adding chia seeds and flax seeds to everything recently, and to be honest you can’t even taste them!

You are probably rolling your eyes at me right now. Oh sure, just another health/food blogger telling me “I won’t even taste it!” First kale, now weird seeds… BUT I PROMISE and to be fair I have never suggested anyone eat kale. I am tempted to try some in future smoothies, but I tried kale chips ones and I think they taste weird. I feel like I’m about to get shunned from the club of people that write about healthy living, but I did! They were weird and kind of just dissolved in your mouth like pop rocks. Or salt.

And my final food photo of the night is dedicated to eating the rainbow! I looove peppers (but not as much as I love sweet potatoes) and picked up this grab-and-go my last night in town before spring break. I wouldn’t normally buy pre-sliced produce as I have never minded much doing the prep work, but I was only in town for another few hours and knew I was going to eat them as soon as I walked in the door to finish off my humus too! It was a perfect procrastinating packing and studying snack- no clean up with a good dose of energy aka no sugar crash! Some people can’t STAND the taste of peppers (*cough cough David cough*) but hey, their loss! Means there are more for me (I just don’t cook with them much anymore).

That’s the eats update for now! I promise to keep things a little more up to date now that my schedule will be returning to (mostly) normal :)

3 thoughts on “Back At It {Food}

  1. I love kale! I have either that or spinach in a smoothie nearly every morning for breakfast, and the difference is basically nothing. Kale might have a slightly different texture, but I’m using a $15 blender so I base any discrepancies on the fact that you get what you pay for, lol. My go-to smoothie is kale, a banana, Greek yogurt and grapes. Super green and super delicious!

    Like

    • Ohh, I’ve never tried grapes in a smoothie! I’m obsessed with bananas though, and am more than willing to try kale in smoothies! I’ve enjoyed it in salads before, just not baked. Yeah I just use a magic bullet..Do you use plain Greek yogurt or a flavored one?

      Like

      • My scientific decision to start using grapes in smoothies went like this: “Hmm, my grapes are about to go bad, so let me freeze them even though I can’t eat frozen grapes because my teeth are too sensitive… frozen grapes are like healthy ice, right? *throws into blender*” Hahaha. I just use plain Greek yogurt! I think the sweetness of the grapes and banana is enough to balance the tartness a bit. :)

        Like

Leave a Reply

