Green Smoothies {And What Else I’m Eating}

Uh, yeah it’s no secret I’m smoothie obsessed. Spring seems like a much better time for smoothies though too right? (I swear it’ll be spring soon) (I hope it’ll be spring soon) (If it doesn’t warm up soon I’m boycotting the real world and going on vacation). This also isn’t the first time I’ve added spinach to my smoothies! These smoothies though? Theses smoothies count as “green” I’d say, with the primary filling being over two handfuls and spinach and mixed greens!

Here’s what went into my smoothie last night- don’t forget I had trained for 5 and a half hours yesterday and this filled me right up and helped me recover!

  • Two handfuls spinach
  • Large banana
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • Skim milk (about 1.5 cups)

And yes, it did somewhat taste like a banana milkshake. This what I put in my green smoothie for the morning!

  • Everything above! Spinach, banana, protien powder, milk
  • Chia seeds
  • Flax seeds
  • Hem,p seeds
  • Shredded coconut (about a tablespoon of each)

I actually pre-made my smoothie last night! But not like I normally do, where I make it little baggies to freeze. I made it RIGHT in the magic bullet cup and threw it in the fridge over night! The only thing I needed to do was add milk when I woke up.

Yes, I did have to shove some stuff down to make room for the banana. The greens blend so well though I never have to worry about clogging up or slowing down my Magic Bullet- in fact even though the smoothie is packed it gets so smooth! I’d add ice if you want a thicker recipe, but you may need to leave more room.

There ya have it, ready to go for this am. I actually kind of love this photo- It’s got the eggs I scored for a $1 at Hy Vee, my spring mix, a smoothie, and the shrimp and sweet potatoes I’ve been using in my menu planning this week! I LOVED what I did before spring break, just buying the massive box and spinach mixed with mixed greens, and challenging myself to finish it by weeks end! Once again, I’ve been making fantastic salads all week. Whats been going on them? Not all at once, I might add

  • Roasted sweet potatoes
  • Baked asparagus
  • Baked shrimp
  • Chopped walnuts and pecans
  • Hemp seeds (a complete plant-based protein!)
  • Chopped apples
  • And two new dressings- a Poppy seed and a Honey White Balsamic (it sounds weird, but it’s delicious)

I’ll branch out from the rabbit food this weekend and aim for some more whole grain carbs Friday and Saturday- this girl has a 4.3 mile obstacle course race on Sunday! (Yeah I thought it was a 5K. It’s not)

Also going on this weekend? The Justin Moore and Randy Houser concert, Senior Appreciation Night, the Hawk Factor student-athlete talent show. Oh yeah, and my Microeconomics exam tonight. And I should probably unpack from spring break. BRING IT.

Leave a Reply

