Almond Butter Chocolate Coconut Bars

So did you know Hy-Vee has this machine where you make your own almond butter RIGHT THERE?? I didn’t until last week! Apparently it’s a thing! I took pictures! Which, in hindsight, was embarrassing. But you know what you can do with $6 worth of fresh almond butter? Turn into bars that taste like dessert and breakfast and heaven all rolled into one.

These recipes have been 3-time US National Champ approved. Aka my best friend Deidre Freeman and I really like to eat.

These were made the same night we made the Sweet Potato Brownies. So we had TWO chocolate fixes for the weekend! And in case you can’t tell by now, I’m a tad obsessed with coconut. I add to everything I bake, to oatmeal, to smoothies, you name it I’ll do it. I’m constantly getting bags of coconut because it goes so well with everything I find ways to add it ALL the time!

Anyways! Onto the chocolate. And did I mention these are no-bake?!

This recipe has been adapted from Holistically Engineered! You’ll need

  • 3/4 flour (the original says almond flour, but you could use coconut or whole wheat!)
  • 3/4 shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup almond butter
  • + 3 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 4 ounces of dark chocolate

In a large bowl, mix the flour, coconut, and sugar. Melt the coconut oil in a small sauce pan, and then add the almond butter. Melt the two together over medium-low heat. Once mixed well, add the almond butter to the dry ingredients and mix until completely combined.

In the same or another small saucepan, melt the 3 tablespoons of almond butter with the chocolate. Once completely melted and combined, pour over top of the original almond butter mixture and smooth with a spatula till even. Place in freezer to set, and serve! We had ours in for about an hour to an hour and a half before we sampled, and it was just about perfect. I ended up keeping the rest of them in the freezer all weekend!

Img_0327

Img_0328

Img_0355

I am a BIG fan of these! Not only were they incredible easy, they were sooo good straight from the freezer. As you can see from the photos, we had to use a larger pan (brownies were taking up my larger one), but to honest next time I’d probably just double it and fill the pan! If you’re keeping them in the freezer, why not? You could individual wrap some of them and think about how perfect that would be lunch? Mmmm. They also made for a perfect post-Saturday practice treat, with lattes of course.

e050adbdc099ec8f8d11c72077cc0b2a

In case you’re wondering what making two different desserts at once look like…oh the state of my kitchen…

One thought on “Almond Butter Chocolate Coconut Bars

Leave a Reply

