Overnight Oats- Finally!

This girl has finally joined the ranks of health bloggers everywhere, and have jumped head first into the craze that is overnight oats.

There’s a reason for the craze folks. Overnight oats are DELICIOUS. They are easy. They have good for you. They are versatile. Basically, they are everything you want in a breakfast food- or dinner food, if like me you skip them for breakfast one day you crave oatmeal so bad you make oatmeal for dinner. Totally acceptable.

That’s the only photo I have of my amazing oats, due to the fact that I am not a food photographer (yet??). Therefore, my overnight oats in the old Tupperware I’ve always been using don’t look incredible appetizing and don’t do them justice.

So how do I do my overnight oats? Great question! I use 1/3 cup of steel oats and 2/3 cup of skim milk, and have tried all the combinations below! 1/3 of a cup of oats doesn’t seem like a lot, but the steel cut compared to the quick oats fill you up WAY more. I have to yet to find a version that I DON’T like! Have a favorite? Share in the comments!

  • Flax seeds, coconut, crasins
  • Banana, honey, walnuts
  • Cocoa powder, PB2, coconut
  • Mini dark chocolate chips, chopped walnuts
  • Coconut, banana, brown sugar
  • Chocolate milk, coconut
  • Flax seeds, crasins, almonds, walnuts
  • Flax seeds, honey, PB2, coconut!
  • Strawberries and bananas
  • PB2 <– Powdered peanut butter, review coming soon!

Clearly you get the idea. Chia seeds and flax seeds are always a good choice. Bananas are always a good choice. And any form of nut, dried fruit, or various sweeteners work as well! See what I mean by versatile? Things I haven’t tried yet that I want to include (not all at the same time, eww) instant coffee (obviously), jam, using a chai instead of milk, and using other types of dried and fresh fruit!

TGIF, am I right? Hope everyone has a lovely weekend :)

9 thoughts on “Overnight Oats- Finally!

  1. Overnight oats are my FAVORITE:) I make mine with 1/2 cups regular oats, chia seeds, 1/2 banana, kefir, and almond milk! so yummy!! I actually wrote a post on overnight oats before. Shoot me a message if you ever have any questions on photography!

    Like

  2. I’m new to this recipe so I’m still unsure on how this recipe goes. (It’s probably common sense, but I’m still unsure.) You mix this the night before? How long before I can eat it? How long does it last?

    Like

    • Hey Kristine! Thanks for stopping by. That’s totally okay, I was pretty unsure on it myself. In a tupperware, mix together one part oats to two parts liquid (I’ve been using skim milk with 1/3 cups oats 2/3 cup liquid). I’d recommend adding chia seeds but you don’t have to. And that’s it! I’m not sure if there’s a minimum time before you can eat it, I’ve always done about 7 or 8 hours in the fridge and it’s been perfect, I just add whatever fixings I want in the morning! I’d say it would last for longer than 24 hours but no more than 48 hours in the fridge, and if you take it with you to go I’d try to eat it that same day! (I’ve had these sit in my backpack for a couple hours before I’ve been able to devour them at lunch, and it’s been fine!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

