Blog {Tour}

Something that I’ve loved about blogging has been the interactions with other bloggers- the community we find ourselves in is always so supportive, there’s always someone to talk to, ask advice, etc! Last week I was spotlighted by Lindsay at More Awesomer as part of a Blog Tour- basically a way to share your writing process and pass along a couple links of other blogs to check out! Check out her post here. I’ve been a big fan of More Awesomer for a while now; Lindsay has a great writing style and does a beautiful job with her photos and content. Definitely a lifestyle blog I would recommend checking out!

What am I working on?
Right now I’m working on just producing quality content and finding my focus. I want to be writing posts that I get excited about, and I’ve learned that the posts I get nervous about publishing are the ones that get the most response! My blog right now involves just loving the writing process, loving the learning curve, and enjoying the interactions and connections blogging has given me. I’m also collaborating on some new design things, so stay tuned! This summer is going to be insanely busy, so I’m brainstorming things for the fall (when I have more time) that involve more scheduled posts, organized pages, etc.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?
I’m not really sure if lauren elyse CAN has a genre quite yet! It started off as a “student-athlete” blog which is probably the tiniest niche I could possibly try and fit into. It’s evolved into very much into a healthy living blog, with a focus on college. I’ve been trying to write under the principle of “living healthy, staying sane,” which to me means writing about the typical health subjects like recipes and workout recaps, but I also try to include posts about mental health, inspiration, stress reducers, time savers, etc. Almost like I’m a health blogger than focuses on wellness and competitive sport at the same time. A health blogger who loves to compete? A college girl lifestyle blog who is just really, really busy?

Why do I write what I do?
Primarily I write what I do because I love it. That’s why I started a blog in the first place- I simply loved to write and wanted to find a platform. I find myself excited to try new healthy recipes because I want to share the process and the finished product, and writing about running has held me more accountable! I write when I accomplish big goals (Back Squat Max Squat), when I want to share what has impacted my life (like my Freshman 15 post), when I finish something I’ve been working towards (Nationals, Warrior Challenge, River Run), and when I feel like I’ve written something that might really make an impact (The College Advice I Wish I Knew <– this post has gone borderline viral!)

How does my writing process work?
Before I started the blog, I started a list on my phone of everything I could write about. Since starting the blog, I’ve never looked at it. Primarily I write about personal current events, like what I’m eating, where I’m traveling, where I’m competing. For the most part I keep all my post ideas in my head, or I write a basic draft on a Word Document. The longer posts I try to write ahead and schedule, but most of the time I sit down to write something and post it the same day! Currently I don’t plan ahead much- while I’d like to, I find I write best when the mood strikes and I find the time. Like mentioned above, when the fall rolls around and I can dedicate a little more time to blogging, I’d love to implement a slightly more organized system.

Who I am spotlighting? Check out their Blog Tour posts Monday, May 12th!

Kriselle, at Livin’ and Lovin’! Kriselle’s blog is 1. A beautiful design and 2. Packed with awesome content! Kriselle writes about what she loves about life (hence the name), including fashion, beauty, religion, college life, her friends and boyfriend, and travel. Make sure to check out her stunning photos with basically every post! She’s got a super friendly writing style and her site is very easy to explore to find what you’re looking for.

Vanessa, at A City Girl’s Guide to Life! I’m a massive fan of Vanessa’s blog, as her main focus is the life of a young professional and how to look the part. Her posts always include great advice and can recommend the latest products and trends a recent grad should pay attention to.. She’s incredibly fashion-savy, which I am not, and is a prominent Boston blogger- a city I’ve never been to but am rapidly wanting to visit soon!

Jennifer, at Fashionista Jenn! Have I mentioned I’m not a fashion blogger? Jenn’s blog is bright, fun, and full of amazing outfits and fashion advice. Something that differs about Jenn’s fashion blog is that she doesn’t just focus on clothes and where to buy them, she includes DIY fashion posts, writes about budget, and puts a big focus on personal style!

Leave a Reply

