The Curse of Gluten {Interview}

We’ve got Colie on the blog today! This girl writes a great blog over at The Curse of Gluten (while working full-time in Chicago), but my favorite thing about her is that she’s a fellow HAWKEYE! Go Hawks! Thanks for agreeing to answer some questions for the lauren elyse CAN readers out there! Be sure to check out her blog for some amaaaazing gluten-free ideas!

Is there anything you miss being gluten and dairy free?

The first thing that comes to my mind is that I miss being carefree about eating! When places offer gluten free items, I have to be careful of cross contamination. For example; a pizzeria may offer a gluten free pizza, but if it’s prepped and cooked in the same area as the glutened pizzas then my pizza is no longer gluten free. I also miss not having to ‘hunt’ for my foods. When I get a craving for mac ’n cheese I have to make sure I have all the ingredients to make myself it. Or I have to run to a few different stores to get all my ingredients. Meal planning and prepping is a must in my life.

What’s something you wish everyone knew about Celiac’s disease?

It’s not in our mind, we’re not making this up. It really, really sucks. Also – it’s not an allergy, it’s an auto-immune disease.

What’s your favorite gluten-free dish?

Oh that’s so hard to choose! I’m a sucker for sweet treats so I think anything cupcake, cake, or anything related is my favorite. My mom rocks and loves to spoil me on holidays with a homemade version or Portillo’s Chocolate Cake but gluten free and dairy free.

And you’re a fellow Hawkeye! What do you miss most about the University of Iowa and Iowa City?

I miss everything about Iowa City and the university! I miss being able to see my friends all the time, I miss the tight community of the college and I miss the pride of Iowa. Whenever I see a Hawkeye roaming around in the suburbs of Chicago I always shout “Hey, go Hawks!” Also, weird, but I really miss Iowa City’s farmers market. There is nothing comparable in the ‘burbs!

If you weren’t in Chicago, where would you be?

Hmm, somewhere out West I think! Arizona, maybe. I just love the sun, warmer weathers and no snowstorms!

Leave a Reply

