Still Oatmeal Obsessed

You’d think the number food I missed while I was gone would be something epic, like the rolls at Texas Roadhouse or chocolate chip cookies or Starbucks. Unfortunately, no, and if anybody has even read a fraction of my blog posts you could probably guess what I missed the most.

Oatmeal.

Oatmeal was probably the number one thing I craved while I was gone, with melted cheese being a close second. Fro yo being a solid third. Right now however the Midwest is still in summer mode (which I’m totally okay with) which means that my oatmeal dreams have only come to life a few times when I actually want hot food.

The other day however I wanted overnight oats, the nice and cold delicious kind SO bad (like the oats found here). The problem was, it was 5pm. And I also really wanted yogurt. What I threw together next is possibly one of the best oatmeal creations I’ve ever had. Trust me, if it’s an option I’ve tried it in my oatmeal (nuts, chocolate, protein powder, maple syrup, fruit, seeds,

I don’t even know what to call this. I said it tasted like a fruit cobbler, but like a stupid healthy one. So, Oatmeal and Yogurt “Cobbler”? I would say Breakfast Bowl, but ya know. 5pm probs.

What you want (need):

  • Old fashioned oats
  • Yogurt (I used Yoplait)
  • Add In’s: I used chia seeds, flax seeds, raspberries, and coconut (duh)

Stir 1/3 cup of oats in 2/3 water and microwave on high for 45-60 seconds. It shouldn’t be liquid-y at all when it comes out. Add whatever you want in terms of Add Ins: this is where I stirred in my chia seeds, flax seeds, and coconut!

Now this was the best part. Take your yogurt, empty it into the oatmeal bowl, and mix in. The first time I tried this I used a raspberry flavored yogurt to go with the 4 cartons of raspberries I bought earlier in the week (they were on sale can you blame me?). The second time aka the next day I made this I used a mixed berry flavor!

Top with boatloads of raspberries (or whatever you prefer).

And that’s it! This is probably the easiest recipe I’ve ever posted up here, but who cares. I’m in love. I got to satisfy my oatmeal craving, my yogurt craving, AND the yogurt cools down the oatmeal slightly which made it perfect for the 90 degree day. It tasted like when you have a fruit cobbler and then you add vanilla ice cream and it melts…so it’s slightly warm and sweet and creamy. All I want to do is make this again and again with every type of yogurt I can find. Wondering what it would be like with Greek yogurt…results to come soon :)

 

One thought on “Still Oatmeal Obsessed

  1. I’ve made this before and it is pretty damn good. I like to use blueberries in mine. It’s been a while though. Now you’ve got me inspired to make some more. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

