lauren elyse CAN turns ONE

So Friday, I forgot to post. It wasn’t an app screw up like the week before, or a scheduling mistake, I just forgot. I left the house at 7:30am and didn’t get home till 11pm, and simply never turned on my laptop. Sometimes life gets in the way, and I’m not going to beat myself up about it, and Friday was a really really great day so I’m not that concerned.

My self proclaimed October blogging challenge has so far been accomplishing all I have wanted it to- it keeps me busy, it keeps me preoccupied. It keeps me thinking, and it helps me tune in. I’m learning more about what I want to write about even in the moments sitting peacefully, quietly, not acting on writing but simply thinking about it.

With that being said, I missed a very important date late September.  September 26th was my one-year blogging birthday. I didn’t celebrate accordingly, posting nothing but Lunchtime Coffee and there was no birthday cake involved. In fact I don’t think I even would have remembered unless my WordPress App dinged with a notification about half way through the day- what sort of blog mama am I!

What Has One Year of Blogging Taught Me After All…

1. Creativity Takes a Little Time. Sure I can churn out posts every weekday for the next year, not just the month of October, but nothing would be astounding. I wouldn’t have the time to create an incredible visual for you, or research all the things I want to share with you. I’d simply write. And while that was the purpose of this creative venture in the first place- writing- creating a whole blogging package (brand, media, sharing) has been a steep learning curve, and one that I am only beginning to get the hang of.

2. Planning Matters. Every now and then I’ll publish something that resonates with more people than I could have imagined (you all know what this link is going to), but the majority of the time, to get people to actual read what I’ve taken the time to write, I have to act accordingly. Scheduling posts makes a difference in my page views, taking the time to comment on others blogs you love keeps your wheels turning, and taking the time to promote a little has helped me make connections with other bloggers. I’m not going back on what I said in this post, I’m just stating that I’ve learned that blogging is more than just about quality writing- it’s a process and a voice that does take some foresight.

3. Sometimes, during the beginnings of a Draft, you find the answers to the questions you didn’t know you had. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat down to write something, only for it to spiral outside of myself and that post never leaves the Draft folder or the Word Document. I call them my “Honest Files”- the posts the world will never see but I will always come back to for inspiration or help. Your Draft folder can become the best form of therapy you need- a place to dump your thoughts and fears that you don’t feel like dealing with yet, and drafting out your biggest dreams that you aren’t quite ready to share.

Writing about blogging is sort of a strange concept, but I never started blogging with intent to make sense. It was more a journey about trying to make sense of everything around me instead of the other way around.

Happy Belated Birthday lauren elyse CAN, here’s to many more years of publishing, drafting, and creating.

Leave a Reply

