Life Lately, Ohio Edition

Blogging coming at you from another hotel room, another city, another state! Thanks for bearing with me through my biannual finals week struggle and the subsequent drop-off-the-face-of-the-earth! But I’m back, and after I write a conclusion for my last paper the semester will  IS officially be over and I’ll only have two classes left for both my degrees…whaaaat?

Here’s the rundown on what’s been going on recently:

I surprised my family for (American) Thanksgiving…again.

Like junior year I flew home for the holiday without telling a soul but my mother. With other thanksgiving plans falling through and a flight credit to use it turned out to be an easy decision! My grandma thought I was my sister, my sister was most definitely surprised, and my Dad was completely speechless too! Showing up unannounced was a blast and I enjoyed a chill weekend at home (before getting delayed flying through Dallas Fort Worth, grrrr…every time!)

My Senior Meet was two weeks ago,

and emotions were at an all-time high. Not only did my mother come down to celebrate the weekend with me, my sister flew down and surprised me this time!! Turns out they had it planned forever, weeks before I decided to surprise her. The weekend was full of highs and lows, great dives and average dives, and just a lot of weird feelings about it being my Senior meet. I can’t believe it went by this fast (even though our Senior meet was pretty early in the year!) and it meant the world to me that my mother and sister could be there with me.

We beat Iowa State for the fifth year in a row

Yeeeeeeeeah Haaaaaaaaawks!!!!!

And well now I’m in Columbus, Ohio!

Took all my finals early, classic. I swear every second or third semester I’m out of town somehow and have to take all my finals in a day or two. Last week I had a paper due Thursday, paper due Friday, one exam Thursday, two exams Friday, and one paper due this upcoming Friday. Why I like torturing myself like that is beyond me!! Despite the literal hell that was last week with minimal mental breakdowns, I survived and headed to Ohio State for the USA Winter Senior National Championships!

I’m looking forward to a great week of training here in Columbus and a motivational kick in the butt before heading home for Christmas, and then coming back to Iowa for training camp! This year has been flying, I’m borderline uncomfortable with the rate that college will soon be over. That’s a lie I’m not borderline uncomfortable- the thought of life after college makes me want to cry because of how amazing these last four and a half years have been. Those will be blog posts for another day…

10433791_10205355578308729_5792888315201545626_n

Want more life updates than every few weeks? Follow me on Instagram or Twitter

Leave a Reply

